Wimbledon: Champions of the Open era

Since Spencer Gore won the first Wimbledon men’s singles title in 1877, the tournament has undergone considerable changes. Fast-forward to the open era - beginning in 1968 - and the champion’s landscape of SW19 has seen many names grace the winners’ board, as well as multiple eras of domination.

Björn Borg was the first to make Centre Court his kingdom, winning five consecutive titles from 1976-1980. Pete Sampras took up the mantle thirteen years later, winning seven championships from 1993-2000. Three years on, the most iconic player ever to step onto the grass, Roger Federer, won the first of his eight titles, his last in 2017. Since 2003, Wimbledon has been won only by the so-called ‘Big Four’: Roger Federer, Rafael Nadal, Novak Djokovic and Andy Murray, in arguably the strongest era of men’s tennis.

On the women’s side, the USA has dominated Wimbledon in the open era, producing 28 of the 51 winners, including icons such as Martina Navratilova, who holds the record of nine titles, and the Williams sisters. Venus won all her five titles in the noughties, while Serena currently has seven, and looks likely to add more to that tally, needing only one to surpass Steffi Graf, who won seven championships while dominating the late-eighties to mid-nineties.

 Click on the GIF below to see the full interactive infographic (Please use Google Chrome or Mozilla Firefox to experience the full infographic)

Search article

Related content

The Wimbledon-loving sports fans
Read more